Daily Archives: August 31, 2010

. why do i blog .

To some people, a blog is a creative outlet where they can express their feelings, thoughts and allow their creative juices run wild. To some, it’s simply a journal where they can jot down written memories and post pictures of their day-to-day activities. Yet, for many, their blogs often revolve a particular topic of interest – e.g fashion, photography, food & travel  amongst many others. With the rising popularity of blogging, it also does not come as a surprise that many are intending to pro-blog, as an effort to cash in on the success of blogging. It was about a month ago that The Lady Bloggers Society featured a thought-provoking article on “Why do you blog?” and it really got me thinking and pondering about my intention of blogging and the direction that I would like to take with this blog.

2 years 7mths ago, I first started this blog with the aim of surprising MK with an extremely mushy love message (now that i come to think of it, it sure sounds cheesy!) on Valentine’s Day. All that I wanted was for this site (hence, the name of this blog, timelessbeauty which equals to love)  to be a recollection of our memories together – both the good and bad. Trust me, as much as there’s love in the air, we do have our fair share of arguments, fights and “close to breaking up” moments. The perfectly imperfect couple. Truth to be told, I never ever thought that I would ever blog (right, Cherie?) because I simply couldn’t understand why would anyone want to publicize their personal lives. Isn’t there already sufficient social media sites to keep everyone connected enough without feeling an invasion of privacy? Of course, 2yrs forward, my opinion has since changed and this blog is no longer just a site for me to pen about my relationship… It has soon evolved into an online personal platform that gives me the opportunity to blog about well, all things in random – from my weekend exploration trips, my dogs, my dinner dates with friends to my latest addiction, snail mail goodies.

A guy friend of mine recently mentioned that although he finds my blog a pleasurable read, he’s however a tad disappointed that there’s not much sharing of personal views and feelings. And, I totally agree. Some might put their hearts out on their sites, but I suppose, I’m still fiercely guarded about my personal space and privacy. Be it Skeletons in my closet or not. lol. Perhaps, the real reason stems from the fact that I do not like to be judged though it’s usually hypocrisy because we all tend to judge others in one way or another and I’m equally guilty of being judgmental too. As such, I prefer to focus on keeping the topics more general, lighthearted and positive.

I digress. So, back to the main question, what is it about blogging that makes me want to blog? It’s difficult to provide an exact answer because I would think that my answers change depending on the stage of my life. As of present times, I try to remind myself to blog (foremost) for myself. It makes me smile with glee whenever I’m able to express a part of myself, my thoughts & experiences in words and pictures … sort of a way to get my head straight and document about the moments. It’s therapeutic, blog therapy. Besides, I love reading blogs/websites that either inspire me or offer content which I can relate to. A fellow lady blogger (Sabrina) remarked that, I want to be a life saver on boring days when the whole entire world we call internet seems to have nothing to offer – except for that little tiny cool blog there, the one you just found by accident.” No, I don’t aim to be a life-saver but like her, I would like to be able to share snippets of my experiences and journey with people from all around the world – Be it an introduction to places of interests in Singapore, random snap shots & photography (credit to MK for some pics), a postcard from somewhere across the globe or a travelogue. In addition, to hopefully blog about daily stuff & muses that others can relate to and perhaps, draw inspiration or motivation from. I wish to be able to provide just that.

Having said all that, it’s easy to get caught up with the hype of blogging, specifically the increase in readership and advertorials. Undeniably, I do find myself facing that temptation occasionally but other than a couple paid advertorials in the past, I’m determined not to get too caught up with the whole commercializing of blogs. It’s nice to have a personal space that is not focused on the dollars and cents because I fear that it will draw the focus away from the freedom to blog. Finally, I cannot be thankful enough whenever I receive encouraging comments because it’s such feedback that makes my day and gives my ego a tiny boost. Doesn’t your ego just needs that little note of appreciation once in awhile? Having readership & comments are becoming such a vital factor to blogging … so, Thank you.  =)

Shall end this extremely long post with a quote from a girlfriend, “Happiness is not found at the end of the road, it is experienced along the way. So take not for granted each moment of your life and you will find a reason to be happy each day.”

. look what i received in the mail #3 .


A “Simpson” postcard from Jen from Florida
Thanks for sharing with me one of your all-time favourite quote. Likewise, I’m a quote addict too.




My new pen-pal, Kay, hails from Christchurch, New Zealand!
Swap bot has definitely introduced me to many artistic & creative people and Kay is no exception. She finds much joy & pleasure in cooking and crafting and hopes that one day, she will be able to publish her very own cookbook. Wow! Your scenic postcards of NZ certainly come in handy as I intend to visit NZ sometime in the near future. Thank you!