. SG Design Week: I’m a Designer! .

PhotoGrid_1426775490989
Maketh Project x Think Tank Studio

Guess what? The leather wallet that I designed and made from scratch is on display for the SG Design Week 2015! I’m no professional artist or designer; Hence it is such a huge honor for me to have my very own creation specially selected for this mini exhibition! Definitely one of the proudest moments in my life! If you happened to be around Bugis area, remember to drop by Maketh Project studio and take a look at the other handmade leather crafts. Support & Buy Local! 🙂 

PhotoGrid_1426775391610

PhotoGrid_1426776134156
I have always enjoyed making handicrafts since I was a little girl but when commitments set in, life gives way to bigger priorities such as working to earn a salary, exercising to keep healthy, hanging out with friends to maintain a work-life balance. In other words, gone were the days when I used to indulge in some DIY therapy. However, a life-threatening injury that I sustained last year made me reflect upon my life and I made the decision to return one of my first loves and give leather crafting a try!

There are several places that offer leather crafting workshops but what that drew me to Maketh Project is the owners’ willingness to share their passion for leather with the community and give the masses (like you and me) the opportunity to create leather products based on our own designs! Yes, you are your own designer and creator! 🙂 Nothing beats the feeling and sense of accomplishment of being the ambassador of your own creation. Moreover, I like that the studio offers a hipster yet intimate environment that breaks down all pretence and encourages an exchange of ideas and creativity amongst like-minded people from all walks of life.

This red and black clutch replaces my “lunch bag” and it is designed such that it is compact enough to store my notes, essential cards and even, the mobile phone! My leather crafting addiction continues because there’s nothing more rewarding than to be able to design and craft your own products! 

One response to “. SG Design Week: I’m a Designer! .

  1. so you and your leather wallet were in Design Week! That’s great! and awesome post as well.

Leave a Reply

