. Explore: Campuhan Ridge, Ubud .

 One of my favourite thing to do during a vacation is to sneak in some sort of adrenaline-pumping activity as I’m addicted to the thrill of an adrenaline rush. There were originally plans for me to embark on a white water rafting adventure down the mighty Telaga Waja River; however, at the last minute, I decided to eschew any forms of adventure and simply enjoy Bali in peace and solitude. A quick search on the internet brought my attention to the breath-taking Campuhan Ridge, which takes one into the beautiful and unspoiled rice fields of Ubud. I was sold. There is no better way to enjoy Ubud other than to take in the idyllic sights of its countryside that is still relatively undisturbed by tourism.

***

The hike to Campuhan Ridge begins at the entrance of the Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa, where you should spot a sign stating that it takes 2km to trek up to the famous Karsa Kafe (a restaurant that overlooks a beautiful rice field, also known as the pitstop for most hikers).
PhotoGrid_1424570034617

The trail will also take you past the historical Gunung Lebah Temple, which was constructed in the 8th century by Danghyang Markandya, the man who was believed to have introduced Hinduism to the island of Bali. PhotoGrid_1424570121758

The spectacular view that greets me on New Year’s Day 🙂 The hike was pretty easy and leisure (not much of a challenge for those who are looking for a workout), and I would highly recommend anyone to do it early morning before the afternoon sun comes out. Plus, if you are lucky, you might just get parts of the trail all to yourself! 
PhotoGrid_1424570204942

PhotoGrid_1424572638636
PhotoGrid_1424573324574
PhotoGrid_1424587641370
artist at workAlong the way, I also met a female painter, Wayan, who brought me on a mini tour to her family’s art studio and introduced me to the miniature painting techniques that are required for egg painting. I might be no professional painter but I do enjoy dabbling in arts & craft during my leisure time, so it was such a privilege for me to be able to observe an artist at work. In fact, I have crazy dreams of taking a mini sabbatical to head to Bali and pick up a painting/ art course. Just for the fun of it. Call me a professional dreamer!

PhotoGrid_1424571380750

PhotoGrid_1424571867984

PhotoGrid_1424571991611

magical tree house
Haven’t your parents often tell you not to enter into a stranger’s house? Well, I guess I broke the rule. It was along the rocky path beyond Karsa Kafe that I suddenly caught a glimpse of a “hanging” wooden bridge in the midst of the green foliage. Curious, I decided to peep around when an elderly man shouted to invite me to his humble abode. Throwing caution to the wind, I decided to venture beyond the bridge and was surprised to be greeted by the sight of a wooden tree-house! I ❤ tree-houses!

Despite the language barrier, the elderly man tried his best in making me feel at home by sharing with me pictures of his family and playing musical tunes on the traditional Balinese instrument (I think it was the gamelan). The house was built single-handedly by him and it provides a great respite for anyone who wanted to escape from the hustle and bustle of main street Ubud.

This serendipitous encounter is just one of the many that I had during my first solo trip in Bali and I know that such personal experiences would not have been possible, had I been travelling with others (especially with cautious friends)! I guess that’s the reason why so many people have opted to travel solo once they caught the bug … You end up making more friends and creating authentic experiences! 🙂 

PhotoGrid_1424573763204
PhotoGrid_1424573899213

PhotoGrid_1424573621904
PhotoGrid_1424573998997
PhotoGrid_1424574323927
PhotoGrid_1424573491074

2 responses to “. Explore: Campuhan Ridge, Ubud .

  1. Hello,

    I could not find your email anywhere on your blog. Please email me if possible!

    I am writing from Nanyang Technological University and would love to do an interview with you on Aerial Silk.

    Hope to hear from you soon!

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

