. 2014: my most dramatic yet blessed year .

2014 has come and gone in the blink of an eye. Needless to say, on paper, 2014 has certainly been the most dreadful year for me. A close shave with death and paralysis. An extremely dramatic breakup with the boy after 6 years of relationship. Finding out that I have been diagnosed with alopecia areata after suffering from a sudden hair loss. Basically, putting my life plans on hold for the majority of the year. As with most people, I started last year with big plans for changes and change, I did get … Just not the way that I had expected it. Then again, no one could have expected such a turn of events.

Yet, despite the pain and struggles, I’m very thankful to have lived and survived through traumatic events and am still able to continue writing my life’s journey. Like I have said multiple times in previous entries, I know that my injury could have been worse and there was a high possibility that I could have lost the ability to even breathe without a ventilator or write this blog post. What matters most is that I’m healthy and mobile now; Life has pretty much returned to normal for me and I’m living it with a brand new perspective. I refused to let these negative experiences define me as a helpless victim. Introspect, 2014 has been my luckiest year and I’m grateful to have been given this opportunity to gather strength and become more resilient to the difficult changes that life may bring forth.

Surviving The Fight Against Adversity

PhotoGrid_1420363121684

Strength From My Loved Ones
I wouldn’t have had a full recovery, had it not been for the support and encouragement of my family and loved ones. At the lowest period of my life, I was going through sporadic episodes of depression and lost all determination to persevere and fight on. All I wanted to do was to wallow in self-pity and spend my days mopping around in bed. Yet, knowing that my family and loved ones have always got my back made realised I wasn’t going through this shit alone. Through my injury and heartache, I have also learnt that people usually have more to give than what it seems. Relatives and casual friends whom I have never bothered to establish close bonds with, reached out to me and helped get me back to my feet.

Life is never a bed of roses. Even now, I still struggle with making some important decisions in life but I know that as long as I have love and support, I will get through it somehow. Thank you. Especially to Pop Daddy, Mum, Popo, Ah Boh, Ginette and Amanda. 🙂

PhotoGrid_1420362572437

Turning My Experience into Positive Changes
There are only 2 types of outcomes to setbacks in life – You either swim or sink. I chose the former. Driven by the purpose to re-commit myself to life, I decided to adopt a positive attitude and fully utilise the 5 months recovery period. Very often, when you go through life-changing experiences, it makes you stop procrastinating (although it’s still a weakness of mine) and make things happen. Well, it happened to me.

Finances: I’ve talked about investing since I first entered the workforce but my super low risk attitude towards investment meant that I have been procrastinating for 5 long years. After my accident, I decided to take a leap of faith, and did my research on the various investment tools. Having said that, I’m not out to make big bucks through investment as I prefer to adopt the buy-and-hold approach and make my money work harder. Am pretty pleased that I’ve finally taken baby steps in building my financial portfolio and am getting passive income through my investment in bonds and equity unit trusts.

Becoming a student again: Well, I’m not returning to school anytime soon but I have picked up new skills such as baking, silkscreen printing and leather crafting during my recovery period. Oh, the joys of learning something new! 🙂

Blogging: Writing about my experiences on the blog has always serve as a very important outlet for me to express my thoughts and feelings. I never blog with the intention of getting my 15 seconds of fame or freebies, but along the way, I have been lucky to be given mini opportunities for blog advertorials and collaborations. 2014 saw this blog collaborating with ZALORA, Tirisula Yoga, iPrice, RWS, The Entertainer and it was really an icing on the cake to be nominated for the running of OMY Best Lifestyle Blog Awards.

More importantly, I’m so thankful for the chance to connect with several readers who are currently in a halo vest and share with them my experiences of life in that horrible metal device. To be able to share my life experiences and hopefully inspire others, is more important than any other commercial benefits that one can get out from blogging.

Joining Couchsurfing: Yet another thing on my TO-DO list for the longest time! What’s a girl gonna do if she cannot travel often but would still want to experience a taste of other countries’ culture and interact with people from around the globe? Well, join Couchsurfing! Being a typical Asian, I’m still living with my family (and loving it) so it is impossible for me to host any travelers at my place. However, I had a ball of fun playing host to Matiz (Greece), Prashant (India), Mike (USA), Ines (Germany), Martin (Austria) by bringing them around Singapore! 🙂

#inspirekindness through match-minis: The accident has taught me the importance of surrounding myself with affirmations and I truly believe that a little dose of positivity goes a long way. I was making inspirational matchbox cards one day when suddenly, an idea popped into my head. Why not pay it forward by giving away these cute handmade matchbox cards (which I affectionately term as “match-mini”)? Just a tiny gesture on my part to help spread the joy and brighten someone’s day!

The first 2 giveaways received pretty good reception and I’m humbled to see so many people giving encouraging comments about this little project.

PhotoGrid_1420361606448PhotoGrid_1420362090889
PhotoGrid_1420363995359
Many people often complain about how terrible their year was and how they wish for that particular year to be over. However if you were to think about it, each year simply marks 365 days in calendar terms but one shouldn’t have to officially wait for that year to be over in order to make changes or resolutions. Time and tide wait for no man. Procrastination is still one of my weaknesses but I’m working hard on making some of my goals and plans work.

With the coming year, I do hope to follow my heart and set out to make decisions that should have been made ages ago. To listen to the inner voice and not allow the situation to define who I am. La Vita E Bella. 

PhotoGrid_1420363306443
#goodbye2014 #hello2015

3 responses to “. 2014: my most dramatic yet blessed year .

  1. I have been following your blog through email alert but i hardly read any blogs nowadays. Today i checked my email and i decided to click on your update. Even though we do not know each other, it was sadden to read about your unfortunate situations. With blessing, i hope you will turn out even stronger this year and may all the good things comes to you.

    • Hi Ricky

      Thanks for your encouraging comment, and also for following my blog. Sometimes, it does take a life-changing event to push us to make certain decisions that we might have been procrastinating for ages. And I do foresee a positive year ahead! 🙂 I hope the same for you too, and happy new year!

  2. Hi Stephanie,

    I first read your blog via a link from somethingboutrenes. Followed it briefly because your blog posts are always so fun and full of life. I eventually stopped reading all blogs last year due to work commitments. Today, for no apparent reason, I decided to drop by your blog again. Many things have certainly changed since the last time I popped by but one constant thing stood out for sure – you are still that strong girl with a zest for life.

    May all the good things come to you for 2015 and beyond. Stay blessed and bright 🙂

Leave a Reply

