. singapore writers’ festival – text in the city .

The annual Singapore Writers’ Festival (SWF) came to a close last Sunday with a light-hearted debate on whether ‘True art is always ugly’. It was my first time attending a literary art festival and I must say that I have been more than impressed by the festival’s line-up of writers and wide offerings of panel discussions. Most of the panel discussions that I had attended over the past 2 weekends were very thought-provoking and engaging. The festival explored a wide variety of topics, ranging from the process of creating a film from books to how globalization has affected the state of literature and publication. The deep exchanges among the writers often made me ponder on the hard topics and there were even instances where I was so moved by the power of words that I started tearing in the middle of the discussion. In addition, the festival’s multidisciplinary approach of fusing literature with music (mainly, Jazz) had aroused my curiosity to explore other genres of literature, such as poetry. I’m certainly looking forward to next year’s edition of the SWF!

It celebrates their writing, it celebrates their craft, it gives them a certain pride of place.

PhotoGrid_1415629696299
Despite the fact that I was once a Literature student during my secondary school days, I must confess that Literature had never been a favourite subject of mine. If anything, I found it a challenge to write and appreciate poetry and prose. However, the recent SWF 2014 had re-kindled my interest to re-learn something that had long been forgotten. To boost the awareness and appreciation of Singapore poetry among Singaporeans, The Arts House, together with the National Arts Council, has kick-started a nation-wide campaign called “Text in the City“.

The Text In The City mobile app invite users to explore our island and uncover the stories and secrets surrounding these places. Take time to pen your very own poems for the places that you feel for!

text in the city

PhotoGrid_1415630121318

Appreciate Singapore poetry with Text In The City.

Leave a Reply

