. aerial hoop: a journey in the air .

“If you are always trying to be normal, you will never know how amazing you can be.”
– Maya Angelou –

Since I was a little girl, I have always been mesmerized by the circus acrobats flying in mid-air and performing all these crazy yet awe-inspiring stunts that I would have never thought was possible. Given my love for thrills and excitement, it is little wonder that there was a tiny part in me that wish I could also do something insane and elope with the circus troop! A romanticized fantasy of running away with my favourite circus of all time, Cirque du Soleil, to perform and travel around the world.

And I did. Well, not to join the circus, of course, but to dabble in aerial arts. Was it an intimidating thought? You bet. Performing various tricks while suspending in mid air sounded difficult and a tad dangerous but I knew I wanted to expand my horizon and try something bold. Yes, I was up for the challenge to take on this love affair with aerial hoop and push myself beyond the limits!

So, what do you get out of this class at the end of the day? Will you be joining a performing group? These are the two questions that I have received the most when I share with my friends and colleagues about my aerial hoop class. Personally, for this particular instance, it has always been the journey and not so much the destination. All that I wanted was to try something different but creative to break free of the monotony of life and add an exciting touch to my fitness regime!

PhotoGrid_1392817459172

Now, there is no denying that aerial hoop is tough work. The circus performers make this art looks so easy but when you are at it, you will realise just how much core and upper body strength is needed to get into even the most basic poses! Oh, and not forgetting the flexibility required to do back-bends or mini contortions. But let me tell you – It is vastly rewarding and I’m often surprised by what I can achieve on the hoop! I love it! 🙂 Personally, my greatest satisfaction is when I can perform the vertically-challenged poses, hands-free

Fortunately, it helps that my yoga practice compliments my aerial hoop classes as it gives me the strength, flexibility and balance that aerial arts require. A pretty fun fitness combination! Alas, my aerial hoop journey will soon come to a halt as I don’t have the strength to bring myself up to an invert on the hoop, which is essential for one to progress to Intermediate level. Nevertheless, I will be trying out beginner aerial silk in the next term so my aerial arts journey doesn’t quite end there yet. Looking forward to it!

PhotoGrid_1393422022140
The beauty of  pictures is that it always makes things look more beautiful and easier than they really seem. Reality is aerial arts hurt big time. You have no idea how much bruises and calluses I have gotten throughout my 8 weeks course. To sum it up, I feel like an abused victim. Regardless, the rewards are more than worth these superficial scars.

My word of advice for anyone who’s looking to take up aerial hoop: Just be mentally prepared that beneath these graceful stunts, there will be pain and hard work but you will enjoy every second of it. 🙂

PhotoGrid_1393641364192
Fly Acro At Gymkraft
100 Guillemard Road

Leave a Reply

