. you only live once #1 .

Some of my friends call me an adrenaline junkie due to my insatiable appetite to try a variety of thrilling activities that will give me an adrenaline rush. I’m honored by the compliments although I beg to differ because while I love excitement and adventures, I’m also one who has the tendency to stick to the comfort zone. Perhaps, this explains my desire for those fleeting moments of exhilaration. Anyhow, Christine’s blog post on the list of things that she has already done/would like to accomplish has inspired me to reflect on my relatively vicarious (and fortunate) life. These are some of the recent activities that I can think off-hand to share with you guys and I hope that you can gain some inspiration from this list! 🙂

YOLO header

Chomping down fried creepy crawlies, Thailand and China
Fried crickets in Bangkok. Fried scorpions in Beijing. True blue Chinese lol. I’m glad that my stomach is strong enough to handle these weird food!
Excitement level: 2 out of 5

thai bug

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Close encounters with big cats, Thailand and New Zealand
Petting the tigers at the Tiger Temple off BKK (honestly, i don’t recommend this place of attraction) and 9 mths old lion cubs in New Zealand.

I’ve always been fascinated with big cats since I was a little girl so it’s no surprise that I’m usually on the lookout for close encounters with these majestic cats! Having said that, I must admit that I was actually more afraid of touching these cats than to jump off a building because of the fear that I might get bitten. Which, I did… just inches off my boob by a tiger cub!  
Excitement level: 4 out of 5

thai tigers
with lion cub

Ride a vintage biplane, USA
A unique experience to be able to ride a vintage biplane that dates back to the 1920s (only 1 of the 5 of its kind left in the world) and enjoy the thrills of experiencing the lazy eight loops, rolls and wingovers in the air! Time to travel back to the history of aviation!
Excitement level: 3 out of 5

vintage biplane 1
vintage biplane 3

Sunrise trek up an active volcano, Bali (Indonesia)
Waking up at 2am in the morning for a moderately challenging  hike up Mount Batur wasn’t exactly my cup of tea but 2 hours and a workout later, I finally survived the climb to the summit of an active volcano and witnessed the beautiful sun rising from the horizon! 
Excitement level: 2.5 out of 5

bali mt batur 1
bali mt batur 2
Glacier hike at Fox Glacier, New Zealand
So far, this had been my only chance to remotely feel like I’m in the Antarctica! Minus the polar animals. Well, it was slightly challenging to hike with the instep crampons on the icy glaciers as we trekked through crevasses and ice ridges. But, it was well worth the hike when we were greeted with breathtaking views of the glacier and ice surroundings!
Excitement level: 3.5 out of 5

edited 1
EDITED
White water rafting, Thailand and New Zealand
I’m generally not a water sports person but white water rafting is definitely something on my TO DO list! My 1st rafting in Tasmania was so boring that I think I almost cried of boredom but the rafting at the Shotover River in NZ proved otherwise. Felt the rush of adrenaline as we paddled through the water rapids before plummeting out of the Oxenbridge Tunnel and down the little waterfall! Get ready to be partially submerged!
Excitement level: 3 out of 5

nz rafting 1

nz rafting 2

Black water caving & tubing at Waitomo Cave, New Zealand
Honestly to speak, I went for the glowworm cave tubing without having much expectations and it turned out to be 1 of my most exciting adventures to-date! Exploring the nooks and crannies of an underwater cave. Tubing along the river in total darkness, underneath a blanket of glowworms. Jumping off a 5m cascading waterfall. Put that all together and trust me, it will be an adventure that you will never forget!
Excitement level: 4 out of 5

nz tube it 1
nz tube it 2

Paragliding at Coronet Peak, New Zealand
The prelude to my first skydive! In my opinion, paragliding isn’t as scary as it might look; In fact, it’s pretty relaxing. Enjoyed the stunning view of the rolling fields and mountain peaks as we glide above it all.
Excitement level: 3.5 out of 5

DCIM100DRIFT
DCIM100DRIFT
Base jump off the tallest building in New Zealand, New Zealand
As you can probably tell by now, my trip to NZ has been a trip of a lifetime as I had so many opportunities to try out an array of exciting activities. However, none of which came close as compared to taking a leap of faith and jumping 192m off the Sky Tower! 85km per hr. 11 seconds from the top to the ground. AMAZING! The  most petrifying part was really to let go of the railings before you plummet down the tower. I already have my next conquer in mind!
Excitement level: 5 out of 5

nz base jump 1
nz base jump 2

Highest tandem skydive from 18,000 feet in the air, USA
Need me to say more? :p
Excitement level: 5 out of 5

nz skydive 2

nz skydive 1

One response to “. you only live once #1 .

  1. Interesting, I should compile a list of milestones and bucket list too.

Leave a Reply

