. remembering 2013 .

Well, what can I say? Honestly, I really wish that I can say that life gets better as I grow older and that it’s all peachy and smooth-sailing. Unfortunately, that couldn’t be further from the truth. That’s not to say that there weren’t any memorable highlights for 2013 … After all, the year had started off on a fantastic note. The better parts of 2013 saw me returning to the mat and deepening my yoga practice, attempting to perform basic aerial stunts, becoming a Singapore Biennale artist, going on 3 vacations and fulfilling some of the activities from my “30 things to do before turning Fabulous 30” list! 🙂

Yet, on the other end of the spectrum, the last quarter of this year had been extremely difficult and emotional for me. It still is, actually. I was entangled in a tumult of emotions, faced with my own demons and had fallen apart to became a shadow of my usual self. Negative thoughts clouded my judgement every single day and when pessimism overtakes your life, it’s easy to sink into depression and not see the light at the end of the tunnel. I am always my harshest critic and at the end of the day, it was me I was fighting against. So many lessons that I have learnt about myself, good and bad. Nonetheless, all bad stuff will eventually come to an end and as the year drew to a close, I finally heaved a sigh of relief that things are finally taking shape. This dark episode probably warrants an entry of its own but for now, I would like to dedicate this post to all the good things of 2013 as this is how I would like to remember the past year.

***

2013 highlights_yoga

As cliche as it might sound, yoga has truly taught me so much about living in the present moment and being in touch with my spiritual self. My relationship with yoga has been pretty much off-and-on for the past couple of years… I can be really addicted to it and attend classes for up to 5-6 times a week but when I take a break, I lose momentum and am absent for a few months. Nonetheless, the frequent classes were not sufficient to quench my thirst to learn more about yoga and meditation; I wanted to know about the origins,yoga philosophy, adjustments and alignments, well…anything! I took a leap of faith and embarked on a personal journey to deepen my practice – by going for a yoga retreat with Anahata Yoga in June and taking up an intensive course with Tirisula Yoga. I must say,  this journey has really brought me contentment and kept me grounded.

However, it wasn’t only till the tail end of this year that I realised how much my yoga mat has been such a peaceful sanctuary for me. As mentioned, the last quarter of the year saw my personal life taking a speedy downhill spiral and I just stopped going for classes altogether. Looking back, it was certainly the worst time to stop going for yoga. I lost myself, allowed negativity to manifest and soon, I wasn’t even sure who I was anymore. If there was one main lesson that I learnt in 2013, it was that we really have to love ourselves first before we can learn to love and appreciate others.  I’ve since returned to the mat and i hope to remain on it for good.

anahata-yoga-koh-phangan-2013

2013 highlights_circus arts
At the peak of my yoga craze, I decided to give circus arts (aerial hoop, trapeze and silks) a try and it was exhilarating to be picking up all these new skills – in the air! Unfortunately, the school that I had attended the classes at had ceased operations thus leaving me with only 1 option left to continue my hobby. And yes, I’ll be back to take this new hobby even further (my youngest sis is joining me)! 🙂

aerial arts


2013 highlights_travel

Travel will always remain as one of the highlights for each year. I might not have travelled to as many countries as some people but my trips are definitely no less exciting or memorable. 2nd half of this year saw me immersing myself in yoga for 5 days on the island of Koh Phangan (quite an irony as the island is famed for its insane rave parties!), bonding with my sister and colleagues during my company retreat to Melbourne before ending the year with a bang in Orlando, Florida. Looking forward to more travels in 2014!

anahata-yoga-koh-phangan-2
fly free
IMG-20131213-WA0022
IMG-20131211-WA0000

2013 highlights_WDW13 years ago, the 9-11 tragedy took place and we had to shelve our travelling plans to Disneyworld.  Along the way, we made many trips – together as a family and individually – to many places around the world but somehow, it seemed like we had forgotten our pact to relieve our childhood memories in Disneyworld together. Fortunately, 13 years down the road (finally – it’s about time!), we fulfilled our decade-long dream of heading to The Happiest Place on Earth! 🙂 And yours truly was lucky enough to celebrate my not-so-young-anymore birthday in Disneyworld and watch the most spectacular display of fireworks in the company of my loved ones … What more can a girl asks for, right?

A tick off my “30 things to do before turning Fabulous 30” list! I promise that I will get right down to blog about my adventures in Florida real soon (heck, I have yet to even start blogging about my New Zealand trip that took place more than a year ago!).

20131213_214137
20131211_101516(0)
birthday in disney


2013 highlights_manatees
Well, swimming with manatees isn’t exactly on my to-do list but it was such a surreal experience that I knew that I have to note it down as one of the highlights for this year. Felt a sense of tranquility to be able to float alongside with these wild gentle giants and give them a little pat  (yes, wild and not animals kept in captivity).

manatee 1
manatee 3
manatee 2


2013 highlights_skydiv
I finally did it! My biggest accomplishment of 2013! Took a leap of faith and jumped off the plane (with a certified skydive instructor, of course) at 18,000 feet above ground. Other than the Mt. Everest skydive (which I would so like to do but the price is simply too exorbitant!), this is apparently the highest tandem skydive in the world so I guess, I did it big in my 1st skydive attempt! Honestly, it was such an adrenaline rush and I don’t think anything else that I had done could ever be compared to this. For now, anyway.

skydive 1
skydive 2
skydive 3
skydive 4

Leave a Reply

