. yoga: studios in Singapore .

source

The title pretty much sums up my current obsession. From someone who used to think yoga as something too boring and meditative for my liking to one who does an average of 5-6 yoga classes/week, this couldn’t be a stronger testimony of how yoga can truly transform someone. Thanks to Groupon, I have been able to visit the various yoga studios to compare the different teaching styles and classes. Shall now introduce you guys to 3 yoga studios that I have visited thus far – One Wellness Fitness Club, Hom Yoga & Real Yoga.

***

Website

+ points: I truly enjoyed my fitness and pilates classes with the instructor, MK (yes, what a coincidence that my fav instructor at OW has the same initials as the boy!) … She’s a no-nonsense hardcore instructor and I never fail to feel much fitter after every workout with her.  The location: It’s a 5mins walk from Raffles Place MRT and great for those who work in the CBD area. Class-wise: OW offers an array of classes, from yoga to belly bollywood dance to pilates with reformer thus catering to the various interests of the students

– points: Personally, I didn’t choose to continue with my classes at OW after the completion of my groupon package as the location isn’t exactly convenient for me. In addition, the classes offered back then were not as comprehensive and the room for the hot yoga was more warm than hot.

Class Size: It really depends on the time of the day. I’ve been to weekday evening classes where it’s full house (30-40 pax) and  also Sunday morning classes where I was 1 of the only 2 students present for the class.

$$$: $1400 w/o GST for 100 classes ($14/class)

source

Website

+ points: To quote from the website, Hom Yoga is trendy and fun with a twist of bohemian-eclectic. I must say that it definitely stands out in the sea of yoga studios in Singapore with its chic design and white & baby blue colours. Location: It is located at Boat Quay and a stone’s throw away from Raffles Place MRT so it’s great for those who work in the CBD area. Teaching style: I like the fact that almost all of the instructors take the effort to explain the benefits behind each yoga pose, thus giving me a better understanding of my practice. In addition, there’s always a breathing exercise (pranayama) before and after each class thus allowing the students to connect better with their yoga practice. Practicing hot yoga at their insanely hot & humid studios is always a challenge but their classes have made me stronger and more appreciative of my hot yoga practices.

– points: To put it simply, the price tag is a little too hefty for my budget although I did sign up for a 30-class package at 30% off at the start of the year. Unlike most yoga studios, Hom focuses mainly on hot yoga so there is a limited range of classes being offered. High turnover of yoga instructors – All of the instructors whom I have met at the start of the year have since left to start their own studios. While this doesn’t matter much to me (ad-hoc student), it can be quite disruptive for regular students who are used to a particular instructor.

Class Size: Hom Yoga is a boutique studio so it is definitely the most intimate studio that I have been to so far. Classes are kept to a max of 20 students thus allowing the instructor to give more personal attention to each student.

$$$: $2690 for 1 year unlimited membership ($224+/month)

News Alert: Hom Yoga is opening a new and bigger studio at Orchard Central so join them in the official launch of the studio on 16th September (Sunday)!

source

Website

+ points: Location: Being in the middle of town gives it an edge over other studios as it is quite convenient for me to head for classes after work and during weekends. Class-wise: Real Yoga offers a diverse range of yoga classes, from vinyasa flow to hot yoga to hot slimming therapy. For those who prefer a more cardio-based workout, they can also attend the highly popular combat kickboxing class which promises to get your adrenaline going. Teaching style: What I really like about most of the instructors at Real is that they are very encouraging and would walk around the studio to correct one’s pose and posture. For someone who is a newbie in yoga, this is extremely crucial as I do not want to risk injuring myself by performing the poses incorrectly. Thanks to great instructors like Dr Kumar, Omkar & Hari, I’m now able to perform some asanas that I never thought would have been possible. Membership rates are also very reasonable and thanks to the Groupon deal, I was able to get a special deal which makes attending yoga classes even more affordable (average $7-8/class).

– points: Real Yoga is getting more commercialized which means that the classes tend to get very packed during peak hours. Unlike the boutique studios which offer a hassle-free online reservation system, students at Real would have to call in to book the classes.

Class Size: Evening and weekend classes are almost always packed (Bigger studio: 50 max; Hot studio: 40 max). Despite the relatively large class size, most of the instructors do walk around to correct one’s pose so there’s sufficient amount of attention give to the bulk of the students.

$$$: $1740 w/o GST for 1 year unlimited membership but do remember to check for promotions to get a better deal!

News Alert:Real Yoga is opening a 2nd outlet in Tampines next month to cater to those staying in the East!

source

One response to “. yoga: studios in Singapore .

  1. Pingback: somethingboutrenes · Get Real!

Leave a Reply

