. 2011 in review .

With only a few hours left before we usher into the new year, I would like to take some time to look back at 2011 and reflect on the first year of the new decade. 
 ***

Started 2011 with our 3rd anniversary dinner at DOZO, where we pen down our resolutions for the year and kept them in a time capsule which we will be opening at 12.01 midnight. Did we fulfill our resolutions? Only time will tell. :p


Job & Studies

Since entering the workforce about 2.5 yrs ago, I must admit that despite the many challenges that I have faced, this is also the year that I have accomplished the most when it comes to my job. From the entire process of renovating a store to managing a crisis when a sewage pipe burst in the middle of the trading floor to managing people relations, it had been an extremely tough journey and I was miserable most of the time. Many times, I have questioned myself about my decision to remain in a job which obviously doesn’t bring out the best in me and in fact made me so demoralized that it has not only negatively affected other aspects of my life but also made me go into a quarter-life crisis mode.

Looking back, while the work year has generally been quite a pain in the ass, I cannot deny that I feel such an overwhelming sense of accomplishment every time I visit the renovated store and tell myself that it was my “baby project”. 🙂 And just when I was contemplating to re-evaluate my career choice and throw the letter, I was given the opportunity to transfer to a department of my choice! Taking up my new job portfolio is probably the best work-related decision that I have made so far and I’m elated to finally be able to see a future in my career.

source

Upgraded myself by picking up sketching (Fun with Sketching classes at NAFA) and learning how to use the various Adobe programs to create simple designs. Just received the letter from NAFA that I have successfully graduated from the certificate course with credit. It has always been part of my plan to pick up basic designing skills and now that I have finally fulfilled that goal, it sure feels great!


Love

2011 saw me having to answer the popular question of the year – Will you and MK be walking down the aisle anytime soon? Well, let’s just say that we are not looking around for HDB flats yet! You guys will be the first to know if anything pops up! :p

As with every year, our relationship is not a fairy tale and has its fair share of happy moments and heartbreaks.Honestly, I have to count my blessings to have such an understanding and patient boyfriend like MK who is able to tolerate my mood swings, (sometimes) unreasonable demands and always so willing to compromise to make the relationship work. I love you, baby boy! 🙂



Travels

Bali. Batam. Bintan. Kuala Lumpur. Langkawi. Segamat. Shanghai. As you can probably tell, my travel trips consist of mainly short getaways to neighbouring countries.

– Sponsored trips to KL and Langkawi
–  A company incentive retreat to the vibrant city of Shanghai and Hangzhou
– Day trip to the sleepy town of Segamat, Malaysia where the boy and I had the privilege to board the last KTM train back to Singapore
– Celebrated Valentine’s Day with the boy in Bali, where we also had our first experience of scuba diving!

Explore Singapore 2011

From visiting the railway stations at Tanjong Pagar and Bukit Timah to soaking our feet at Singapore’s only hotspring at Sembawang to exploring the idyllic St John island, the first half of 2011 saw me resuming my role as a “Tourist in my own country”. However, my weekend activities kinda dwindled down to being a couch potato and lazing around at home in the 2nd half of the year due to an increasing workload and night classes. All that I wanted to do was to catch up on my sleep! Now that I have more free time at hand, let’s hope that I will become more productive with the weekends!


Blogging

In a nutshell, blogging has been the highlight of the year for me. Being nominated and getting into the top 3 places for OMY Best Lifestyle Blog Award has opened so many doors for me – Receiving invitations to blogger events and food tasting sessions, product reviews, blogging collaborations, befriending other bloggers and best of all, free trips to Langkawi and KL to party!

With so many fantastic experiences, I’m sure that it will be difficult to beat 2011 (in terms of blogging). Having said that, I have made a little promise to myself to remain true to my first intention of blogging – which is to document my adventures and journeys in life – and not turn it into a commercial blog that’s simply full of reviews and advertorials. Yes, The Girl at The Traffic Light Junction will remain as a little and humble blog and I would like to thank all friends and readers who have been enjoying my blog!

Happy New Year’s Eve, everyone!

6 responses to “. 2011 in review .

  1. Happy New Year my dear! May 2012 be awesome for you! =)

  2. Happy New Year 2012!

  3. Kudos to u for making a wish to follow your blog’s original intention 🙂
    It is so easy to be tempted by “events and promotions” along the way.

    Wishing you and Family, a Healthy and Happy 2012 🙂

  4. Gosh, girl, your 2011 seems SO HAPPENING! Once again, I love your photos, and your blog. It’s too pretty. Hope I’ll see you at oneovem events soon! 🙂 xoxx

    • Hey girl! 🙂

      I’m flattered! Your year has been absolutely happening- from sponsored trips to winning the Singtel contest to hosting gigs! Can your life get any more exciting? Lol. Yes! Perhaps, we can do a girly outing with Nicky soon or something! 🙂

Leave a Reply

