. quarterlife crisis: changes are inevitable .

About a month ago, I mentioned about this quarterlife crisis that I’m currently facing as my life felt as if it was fast approaching a standstill. Stuck in a rut and desperate for changes. Yet, life surprises us in its special ways when we least expect it. Just when I felt as if my life has hit the lowest point  for this year, something happened – changes – that turned my relatively bleak (work) year the other way round.

A pay cut of a hundred dollars later, I find myself settling for a new role in my company – A job that is not just a job, but one that I can possibly turn into a career. A position in the marketing department dealing with sponsorship, events and branding. Some reckon that I was a fool to have given up on the extra allowance (the allowance is meant for working 1/2 day over the weekend)  and the chance of a possible promotion next year for this new position, but (a huge BUT!) should we always make our decisions based on monetary factors? Back to the whole debate about job satisfaction vs money. It’s been a week since I started on my new role and whilst I’m still slowly adapting to the new environment and responsibilities, I must admit that I’m grateful for the opportunity to wake up everyday and look forward to working on things that give me a rush of excitement. Frankly to speak, after all the blabbering about the need to step out of the comfort zone, I thought I was all ready to start this new role with zest! Alas, reality strike and I realised that I was, after all, not immune to the initial stress and anxiety of getting out of the comfort level and that it can ,indeed, be a little overwhelming. To be very honest, my first week was spent worrying incessantly if I was able to cope with the new job tasks and adapting to a new management style and colleagues but as the work week approaches to an end, I realised that I’ll do just fine if I stop being a worrywart.

Speaking from experience, it’s tough to have to overcome the challenge of being pulled out of the comfort zone and step into a fast-paced environment where you have to multi-task and tackle several projects at hand. Yet, changes are inevitable if you are in pursuit of opportunities and growth in life so suck it up, stop the unnecessary worries and embrace these new changes with a positive outlook.

“Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it. And, like any great relationship, it just gets better and better as the years roll on” 
. Steve Jobs . 

With the weekends finally freed from work (hello to 5 days work week!), I look forward to spending those precious time  not working or catching up on my sleep but doing what I enjoy. A couple of emails from friends and readers in the past few months reminded me of my hobby to explore parts of Singapore, something which I haven’t been doing since I started part-time studies and dealing with the major renovation at my previous store. I want to get out there, visit the little nooks and crannies, join heritage walking trails and document these little journeys on my blog! 

As a working adult dealing with part-time studies, I must confess that it’s been a struggle to maintain this whole work/study/personal life balance. To be honest, I have never been the ideal student, often opting to procrastinate and complete my assignments and projects only at the last minute. Hence, now that I have to deal with work and other commitments, it’s definitely a pain in the neck to have to spend weekends trying to complete my assignments. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy learning more about graphic design and coming up with simple designs but it’s this whole “you must complete your assignments to pass with a certificate” that sorta kills the joy of learning at your own pace. Want to be able to design simple graphics at leisure. 

Before I end this long blog entry, I do hope that by sharing my experience of dealing with the quarterlife crisis that it will help to provide you with some insights into new transitions and changes in life. So yes, I haven’t made the life-changing decision to quit my job in pursuit of a sabbatical (yet!) but this move to a new role certainly injects new energy and creativity into my life!

1. Complete my studies in Visual Communications
2. Get licensed to scuba dive (in the planning process!)
3. End the year with a family trip to Melbourne 
4.  Have the drive and passion for my new role @ work
5. Get in shape  

Click for the link to part 1 of the Quarterlife Crisis series

2 responses to “. quarterlife crisis: changes are inevitable .

  1. wow i really liked this post! 🙂 your new job sounds interesting! haha recently i also felt like this past year has been a rather well, kinda boring one :/ but your story is really inspiring!

    • Hi babe

      Thanks for your encouraging comment. Well, yes… my current portfolio is definitely way more interesting and more suitable for me as compared to my previous stint! Glad that my company has given me the chance to transfer to a dept of my liking 🙂

      Well, actually this year has been relatively smooth-sailing for me but when you work for 75% of your time and it’s not exactly something you enjoy, it can become quite disruptive for one. You seem to be hitting many food spots this year, that’s pretty cool! 🙂

Leave a Reply

