. the joy of preparing breakfast .

Judging from the number of cooking-related posts that I have on my blog, it doesn’t take a genius to guess that I’m no cook. Well, to be very honest, the favourite place in my house is the bedroom and not the kitchen. On the other hand, the boy is a huge foodie and that probably explains why he has been in the F&B and night entertainment industry for a decade (Psst. He’s not that old, it’s just that he started working since he was 15!).

Being in a relationship for close to 4 years, I have to admit that there were many occasions when I took him and the relationship for granted. Like most couples, we also have our fair share of days when we felt as if we were stuck in a stagnant relationship that’s void of excitement & passion. So, it’s back to Relationship 101The honeymoon days of a relationship. Doing something sweet for each other. Decided to surprise the boy by whipping up a simple hearty breakfast for him, served with a glass of sweet wine ( 2006 Wolf Blass Gold Label Botrytis Semillon) which the boy rejected because he prefers his cup of espresso in the morning. *Hrmph. 

At the end of the day, I might be no cook but the joy of preparing breakfast for a loved one is sweet pleasure. 🙂  Food blogs and recipe websites – I’ll be seeing you more often from now on! 

Breakfast on a lovely Saturday morning. Tomato, basil & healthy nuts bruschetta. Melted cheese on ham. German sausage. Scrambled eggs. 




7 responses to “. the joy of preparing breakfast .

  1. I hope your boy enjoyed breakfast very much!

  2. Looks yummy! I can’t cook for nuts… I think I’m in the same situation as you, with the bf cooking for me more than I cook for him. But at least when you do cook for him, it turns out good! Unlike my attempts. Hahah

    • I know. It seems like our generation of ladies are depending too much on the guys to cook for the family! I’ve many girlfriends whose boyfriends or husbands are actually better at cooking as compared to them. Perhaps, the term “Domestic Goddess” should be changed to “Domestic God” or something in order to describe the people of Generation Y! Our joint attempts to cook never fail to end with the same scenario – The boy doing the cooking and the girl doing the preparation (e.g chopping of vegetables, peeling of prawns, etc). lol.

      Have you read the book “A Tiger in the Kitchen”? It’s a real-life story that I can relate too and hopefully one day, it will inspire me to be a better cook 🙂

  3. I agree with you on the Domestic God! Actually it’s no surprise, most head chefs are males!?
    Haha I haven’t read that book!

    • That’s true!! Alot of the popular chefs in 5* star restaurants are guys! Does this gives us the excuse to be pampered by the guys then?:p HAHA.

Leave a Reply

