. revisit: old playgrounds #1 .

Shall start this blog entry with snippets from my favourite comic, Archie (Our dog, Archie, is named after the lead character!).

Archie & Betty: A Cheap Date @ the Playground

Baby, shall we go on a simple date at the playground sometime soon? πŸ™‚


Royston Tan’s documentary movie, Old Places, has inspired many Singaporeans to take a trip down memory lane and recapture the old places that were, once, so significant in our lives. A street barbershop, a world-class cinema, an old elevator, a family-managed confectionery, a dilapidated post office, the neighborhood coffee shop and of course, every child’s favourite hangout, the playground. Well, every child’s favourite place to be before modern technology (internet? gaming? television?) came into our lives. I miss … experiencing a temporary high as I swept back and forth on the swing, getting giddy spells as I went round the merry-go-round and enjoying the thrill of playing the balancing act on the see-saw. Playground features that are almost rare to find in modern playgrounds these days. As it turns out, the government had to convert the majority of the sandpit into foam or rubber as there was a hike in playground-related accidents which resulted in many injuries.

These playgrounds of the yesteryear (built between 1970s to 1990s) were designed and built with a specific theme in mind, such as animals and fruits. Earlier this year, The Little Drom Store celebrated “the essence of the good old dreamy days” by showcasing a collection of 28 pictures taken of 10 old playgrounds at the Esplanade. “The architecture of such nostalgic playgrounds were considered art, beyond the tangible realm. And in our humble opinion, they are so much more creative and imaginative than the plastic playgrounds we have now.” – The Little Drom Store. Such a beautiful statement.

Β With only a map in hand (thank god for GPS!) and a whole lot of determination (trust me, it was quite a challenge to fight the scorching heat while trying to find my way to the playgrounds … on foot and public transport!), I managed to cover 5 old playgrounds in 5 hours. Relive your childhood memories as I take you through these 5 playgrounds located in the heartlands.

* All pics with the blurry effects are taken with the starburst jelly lens attached to the nico digi. For those who are keen, you might like to check out Film Snap for a wide range of film cameras and accessories at budget friendly prices! πŸ™‚

Take a walk with the Dinosaurs
Address: Block 27 at Lorong 6 Toa Payoh






Colourful Dragon at sandpit playground
Address: Block 28 at Lorong 8 Toa Payoh









Mini Dragon
Address: Block 240 Lorong 1 Toa Payoh







Can you tell the time?
Address: In front of Bishan Bus Interchange





Large Dragon Playground
Address: Block 570 at Ang Mo Kio Ave 3








Credits to the following sources for providing info:
Xtemujin
One-North Explorers
Project Old Playground
The Photojournalist

16 responses to “. revisit: old playgrounds #1 .

  1. thanks for the credit, hope you will be covering more Old playgrounds πŸ™‚
    cheers, andy

    • Hi Andy πŸ™‚

      You’re welcome! Your blog was definitely a great source of information for me πŸ™‚ Also, I hope to be able to cover more playgrounds. WIll definitely be following your blog for your adventures with your kids in Singapore!

  2. I grew up in Toa Payoh .. Your post makes me wanna go back and re-visit my childhood playground…. the old good days~

    • yea, playgrounds (along with arcades!) were the fun places to hang out when we were kids… wonder if children these days enjoy visiting the playgrounds as much as we used to?

  3. Well done!

    Great coverage & photos! Love it! U are ahead of me in covering the Old Playgrounds! I must catch up!! πŸ˜›

    Ok ok, going to plan my time to take the other Old Playgrounds soon! πŸ˜€

    Keep shooting & sharing & thanks for the credits! πŸ˜‰

    JH
    http://www.photojournalist-tgh.tv

    • Hi JH πŸ™‚

      Thanks again! I was lucky, happened to visit all the old playgrounds in the vicinity of AMK/TPY/Bishan (places near my area)! I’m intending to visit the EAST next as there seems to be many old and interesting playgrounds in Tampines and Pasir Ris. Thematic playgrounds featuring a seal, old junk boat, watermelon and elephant! Sounds like a mini amusement park! πŸ™‚

  4. Very nice!! I used to love going to playgrounds as a kid. When my mom gives us the green light to go to the playground, my sister and I will just hang out there not wanting to go home. This post sure brings back alot of fond memories! πŸ˜‰

    • Hi πŸ™‚

      Thanks! Likewise, i used to visit the playground just below my block when I was young. My favourites were definitely the swings (i love flying into the skies!) and see-saw (sadly, a feature that is no longer built in modern playgrounds anymore) … could spent hours hanging at the playground. Boy, those were the carefree days where all we wanted to do was to play and have fun! πŸ™‚

  5. Awww… so nostalgic! My fav part of the old dragon playground is the “tube” bridge. But I doubt I can fit in anymore! Great post!

    • Hi:)

      The tube is quite big… dont worry about not being able to fit in! Trust me, you will have no problems :p the dragon playground in toa payoh is 1 of my favourite too, especially the rainbow colour “tube”!

  6. Thanks for the review posts again..
    You are wonderful πŸ™‚

  7. That Dragon Playground definitely walked me down memory lane! There used to be one exactly like that right infront of my parent’s HDB flat and you bet I played there every afternoon after school with my neighbourhood friends! I still remember it used to be sand floors instead of rubber tiles though..

    • Oh yes, there’s just something more authentic about sandpit playgrounds isn’t it? The rubber/foam pit, while safe for the kids, just doesn’t seem to have the same appeal anymore. In fact, I don’t see as many children playing in playgrounds anymore. After all, there are other “more interesting” alternatives such as computer games, facebook, play sets, etc… Either that, or it’s because we are really moving towards an aging population lol :p

  8. Wow, this must be boys dream play ground! It looks so fun!!!

Leave a Reply

