. fun with sketching 101 .

I just signed up for a 8-weeks “Fun with Sketching” course at Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts (NAFA). My line of work: Busy with managing a retail business, operations and attending a ton of meetings. In other words? I need a creative outlet to break free of the monotony of working life. It’s interesting to be able to translate our observations in real life into simple sketches. Attended my first class where we were taught to “warm up” by drawing lines, circles and squares before proceeding to sketch an object: A display of 4 dried leaves on a chair. Fun with pencil, fun with sketching! I’m excited 🙂

16 responses to “. fun with sketching 101 .

  1. wow..does it connected to your job or just another interest for you?Is the course expensive?

    • Hi there 🙂

      Oh no…my job, sadly, doesn’t really require me to do anything creative or artsy. Am just doing this as I’ve always enjoy doodling (although sketching and doodling are world’s apart!). It’s $300 for 8 classes, not very cheap but I think it’s worth the money. 1 class is about 3 hrs.

  2. oic.it’s good.no harm as it cultivates your art skill and can be put on use one day perhaps?or even on your wedding or events..who knows?keep it going

    • thanks for your suggestion. i hope to be able to put my sketching skills into good use by sketching some overseas landscape while im on a vacation. have always admire people who are able to sketch beautiful and gorgeous landscapes. 🙂

  3. i love the idea of taking an arts class thats totally outside of my field but just for fun …seems so freeing and relaxing
    and might i say you’re leaf sketches are pretty impressive!

    • i agree! i do see art as a form of therapy and relaxation. really takes my mind off stress, work and well… stress! thank you for your compliment. you should see the works done by our seniors… they are amazing!

  4. Hey I was just checking up on the classes at NAFA a few weeks back! My job doesn’t require any creativity either…creative accounting perhaps! Took up the oil painting one a few years back and it was great fun. Hope you have fun with your sketching class.

    • Haha. are u an accountant? dont worry, i’m in operation so it’s not much more exciting either. did u do oil painting? cool. i’ve some seniors in my class who picked up oil painting and they say it’s alot harder as compared to sketching and charcoal. what are the classes that you are keen to take in NAFA? Likewise, i might be taking the certificate in visual communications in NAFA! 🙂

  5. This is the course I’ve been eyeing for more than a year now, but I keep procrastinating at registering. Looks like I’ve missed the boat again…argh! Glad to see, though, that you’re giving it a try. Hopefully you’ll post more images of your sketches for us to follow your progress? 😉

    • Hi! Not to worry though, they have frequent “Fun with Sketching” courses. I believe that there will be another course or two scheduled in June/July. You might like to check out the schedule on the website! 🙂 Alternatively, you might be interested to follow my “art” progress and decide if it’s something that you want to do first 🙂

  6. You know, sometimes I get so excited seeing your posts coz our similarities overlap quite a fair bit. Whenever I wanted to visit a certain place or do certain things, I would see them on your blog which gave me more impetus to visit them. At other times, I you going the same places I did before. On a few occasions, I realised we did the same thing during the same period of time.
    This one, I definitely must comment. I’ve always been looking at NAFA courses. Not their diploma or degree but those short courses for opened to all. There’s always an artistic side of me, as in being interested in art and the arts but not being very good at them. However I do not have the time to join them since my job entails me working till the night on most days. I’ve decided to take a drastic step and to take a break to do all the things I’ve been wanting to do but holding back. I’ve got many goals to achieve, many skills I wanna hone, many courses I wanna take. I want to step back from my work and to enrich myself creatively. I’m interested in a few of NAFA courses but I’ve to plan carefully which to choose coz I’ll be drawing on my savings and can’t possibly choose all. Is the sketching really recommended? My friend also took that and she encouraged me to go for that. In fact, I’m already looking at some drawing technique books in Kinokuniya and it got me quite interested.

  7. * After reading my comment above, I realised it’s full of missing words and strange expression (I think I’m getting sleepy at 3am) so I modified and send the comment again. You needn’t approve the one above ok?

    You know, sometimes I get so excited seeing your posts coz our similarities overlap quite a fair bit. Whenever I wanted to visit a certain place or do certain things, I would see them on your blog which gave me more impetus to visit or to do them. At other times, I would see you going to the same places or doing the same things I’ve done before. On a few occasions, I realised we did the same thing during the same period of time.
    This one, I definitely must comment. I’ve always been looking at NAFA courses. Not their diploma or degree but those short courses for opened to all. There’s always an artistic side of me, as in being interested in art and the arts but not being very good at them. However I do not have the time to take up any art courses since my job entails me working till the night on most days. I’ve decided to take a drastic step and to take a well-deserved break to do all the things I’ve been wanting to do but holding back. I’ve got many goals to achieve, many skills I wanna hone, many courses I wanna take. I want to step back from my work and to enrich myself creatively. I’m interested in a few of NAFA courses but I’ve to plan carefully which to choose coz I’ll be drawing on my savings and can’t possibly choose everything I’m interested in. Is the sketching really recommended? My friend also took that and she encouraged me to go for that. In fact, I’m already looking at some drawing technique books in Kinokuniya and it got me quite interested.

    • Hi babe 🙂

      I always love receiving comments from you. Thank you for taking the time to write despite your busy schedule. I do agree that we are pretty similar to a certain extent. Our interest to explore and seek for adventure in life, our need to rediscover and redefine life… i believe that these are characteristics that make us want to venture out of our comfort zone and not simply lead a practical and well-trodden lifestyle.

      I love making lists and like you, I realise that I have a long list of goals that I would like to achieve in the near future. I’ve always love to doodle and draw (not a talent but an interest) since young but somehow, other stuff like hanging out with friends, spending time with my boyfriend and visiting the nooks and crannies of Singapore, have always taken precedence over the priority to further develop this interest. But this year has been a year of many changes… some of my priorities have changed and Im starting to see the importance to stop procrastinating and re-organize my life and priorities so that I can commit some time to the development of myself and my interests. What are some of the courses that you might be interested in? Not too sure if you’re interested in sketching but if you are, you might like to follow my “art progress” so that it can give you a better idea if sketching is something that you might be keen to pick up. My friend will be starting her course in western acrylic painting soon so if that’s something that you are interested in, do let me know so that i can keep you in the loop:)

      In many developed societies, success is often determined by the amount of money we make and the progression of our career, so it’s inevitable that many of us put in many hours into work. As much as I would like to earn more money (who doesn’t right?), I somehow can’t envision myself as a workaholic. I strongly believe that there’s more to life than just work although I must admit it’s still a constant struggle for me to find the balance between climbing the corporate ladder and finding more happiness outside of my job. From your blog posts, I can tell that you are very passionate about life too so I think it’s great that you made the decision to take a break. It’s a decision that you wouldn’t regret 🙂

  8. Pingback: somethingboutrenes · Lesson 0: Preparation for Acrylic Painting

  9. hi gal, i m also thkg to take this class. so far so good?

    • hello!

      thanks for dropping by! yes, i had fun with this class…. it depends though. i’ve classmates who are a little bored of sketching as they prefer something more challenging but in my opinion, it is a good form of art therapy that takes my mind off work and such. enjoyed it 🙂 having said that, it’s a little pricey though!

Leave a Reply

