. loss of a loved one .

Sorry for the long hiatus. Our lives came to a sudden stand-still a week ago when we were hit by the sudden news of my grandfather’s death. He was old, 90 years of age. To be very honest, we didn’t see this coming although we knew, deep in our hearts, that it was a matter of time as his health was slowly deteriorating. But, he was generally healthy and in fact, it was just a few days before his death that the doctor had given him a clean bill of health.

His passing had hit me especially hard as I was brought up by my grandparents during the weekdays (typical Singaporean family when both parents have to work in order to support the family). They were the ones who saw me through my growing years – From when I was a toddler who could barely walk up to my graduation from University and admission into adulthood. In fact, we have 3 generations living under 1 roof and this is a tradition that I’m so proud of.

Pain heals with time, and as the days go by, I’m slowly accepting the fact that he’s truly gone and that his death is something I have to come to terms with and move on in life. After all, he had a great and meaningful life, complete with filial children and grandchildren. Grandpa, you will always be dearly missed and rest assured that we will take good care of Grandma.

On an ending note, I would also like to take this opportunity to thank all those who have expressed their deepest condolences in one way or another. Thank you for your support during this extremely difficult time.

Comments are closed.