. look what i received in the mail #4 .


Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens,
bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens,
brown paper packages tied up with strings,
these are a few of my favorite things.”

.

It’s inevitable that we, as human beings, undergo through many different phases in life. Very obviously, my current addiction-cum-obsession is none other than the lovely things associated with snail mails, swaps and handmade crafts. True indeed, this addiction could be nothing but a passing phase in my life but it’s definitely one eye-opening experience. You might ask, how so?

Apart from anticipating an international mail in my mailbox, the next thing that I truly enjoy is how this exchange of mails opens my eyes to the creative world of people who finds much pleasure in crafting and just how generous they are with giving away their beautiful handmade stuff to random strangers from all over the world. The spirit of sharing & giving. On the other hand, I confess that I’m one of those who, more often than not, ends up sending out store-bought purchases rather than handmade crafts due to the lack of time (an excuse?). Without a doubt, the generous spirit of giving exhibited by some of these bloggers/swap partners puts me to shame at times. After all, it is always easier to fall into the trap of spending money on purchases than to spend time and effort to create something from scratch. A thought for me to think about and work on. I’m slowly but surely learning more about the swap etiquette.

.

Here’s a beautifully painted bookmark by Linda from Netherlands. Thank You so much for creating such a charming bookmark! 🙂


A snail mail from  Maria
, my new-found pen pal whom I was introduced to via the Dear Darlings project. Speaking of which, this reminds me that I’ve to start on my replies to 3 letters soon. My procrastination to pick up driving precedes me and even Maria has a word of encouragement to spur me on –“Driving equals freedom”. Indeed, a phrase that I cannot deny … If only I can stop wasting my time and embark on this mission that was to be completed 5yrs ago. Yes, half a decade ago!


Here comes the biggest surprise of the week! Wait a min, make that the entire time since I signed up for Postcrossing/Swap Bot. My swap partner who’s also, coincidentally, called Steph invested much time and effort in preparing this lovely parcel. If my memory doesn’t fail me, I don’t even think that I had received a parcel of this size throughout my entire semester in Buffalo. There were friends of mine who received parcels full of ready-to-eat Singapore delights such as Bak Kut Teh, Curry Chicken paste, Hainanese Chicken Rice whereas I had to be contented with flat mails like letters and cards. Oh well, I love receiving snail mails of all sorts so no complaints.

In comparison, my package for the Because you’re lovely swap pales in comparison. And, by this, I seriously mean that my package looks so pathetic that I feel compelled to dig an enormous hole just so that I can bury my whole embarrassed self into it.

A incredible bag full of goodies from Steph. Thank you, thank you and thank you … I simply cannot express how ecstatic I am to receive such a fabulous goodie bag!



It doesn’t just stop at gifts for me. The 2 beloved leading males in my life also received a range of goods-in-kind from the very thoughtful Steph. The dogs are such a sucker for food (especially Frosty. He eats anything and everything! I’m amazed that he’s not ballooning in size considering the amt of food he tries to eat/steal from Archie!), treats and toys and you have completely won them over with your new presents for them!


Now, I confess that I’m 1 of those who eschew the idea of online blog awards but for Steph, I’m willing to make an exception. Hence, here’s another blog award that I created specially for you to add to your growing list of blog honors! 🙂


.
Finally, here’s to all fellow swap partners/pen pals/postcrossing addicts – Thank You so much for being part of this “Snail Mail” journey with me!

5 responses to “. look what i received in the mail #4 .

  1. Ahh wow! That’s such a wonderful amount of wonderfulness from Belen! I love that your dogs received treats too 🙂

    That’s so much for being a part of this swap. I may have to email people to let me know when they post about their swaps so I can post pictures on the blog.

    Mail, swaps, packages and handmade goods are utterly amazing! I hope it will forever be an obsession for me. x

  2. Wow! Lucky you to be receiving all that snail mail! :]
    I totally agree with you. There is something special about opening the mailbox to find a letter addressed to you in someone’s own unique handwriting!

  3. Fun post! I participated in the Because you’re lovely post, too. Great idea on Gracie’s part.

    I’m so glad that we’re pen pals, and I look forward to getting to know you even better through your letters and blog.

  4. I am loving your dog’s pose. What a cutie! Pen pals really are the best! I’ve blogged a few times about losing snail mail because of computers. There is something so sentimental and special about letters.

    xo M

  5. Wow, what a great package you received for Gracie’s ‘Because You’re Lovely’ swap! I’ve just taken photos of my goodies and can’t wait to post about it – I was truly spoiled!

    Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

    x Jasmine

Leave a Reply

